Three TK OM Teams Advance to World Finals

Ten TK teams competed Saturday in the state finals hosted at TK.  Two other teams narrowly missed advancing to the worlds with third place finishes. Only the top two teams in each division advance.

The TKMS team of Lee Marentette, Rachel Shoemaker, Sierra Morton, Zach Maring, Kate Baldry, Natalie Alden placed first at the state competition, earning the right to advance to the world finals in May at Michigan State University.

Another middle school team narrowly missed advancing. They earned third-place medals at the state finals. Team members are  Shelby Robinett, Marian Gielincki, Billie DeWent, Whitney Ruger, Cash Rabley, Mallory Hagemann, Travis Barton.

The middle school team made up of Aleese Lambert, Keely Lambert, Cole Boysen, Mallory Syren, Graysen Stahle placed fourth. Another middle school team with members  Audrey Guikema, Shelby Madole, Masyn Hiemstra, Avrey Hicswa, Nancy Raab, Libby Hess, Emma Thompson, placed fifth. A final TKMS team did not place in the top six in the world finals. Team members are Jonas Grummet, Emily Fliearman, Darby Nutt, Ava Myers, Margaret Richards, Jaelynn VanderSyde.

The TKHS team made up of Jacob Maring, Emma Chapman, Grace Densham, Zane Walters, Clair Jansma, Anna Miller and Wyatt Crampton, not only placed first in their division they also won the coveted Ranatra Fusca Award for creativity. In addition, Crampton was awarded one of the four OM scholarships.

In making the announcement of the Ranatra Fusca Award, OM officials said they believed this was the first time a team was nominated by both the spontaneous problem judges as well as the long-term problem judges.

The team also won the Ranatra Fusca Award at the regional event. The award is presented to an outstanding team presenting exceptional creativity. It is the most coveted of all OM awards and is given out based on nominations by the judges.

The Page Elementary team advancing to the world finals is made up of team members Oliver Lietz, Erik Cove, Gracen Rabley, Elise DeBoer, Israel Sherk, Carter Curtis, Luke Archer. The team ended up in a three-way second-place tie in their division qualifying for advancement to the world finals.

A second high school team narrowly missed the world finals but received third-place medals. Team members are Aubrey Evans, Christel Hoskins, Kelly Gasser, Brendan Carlson, Michael Brown and Ellie Essenberg.

The Page team of Ella Fischer, Charlotte Crampton, Mallory Rosenberg, Avery Hagemann, Jenna Robinett, Miles Chambers and Alex Evans placed fourth.

One team from the middle school and one team from Page did not place in the top six in their very competitive divisions at the state finals.

The world finals will be at Michigan State University in East Lansing May 22-25.

TK has hosted the state finals for several years and it wouldn't be possible without the support of TK administrators, support staff, custodians, dining service, and the many volunteers.