Four TK Odyssey of the Mind Teams Advance to State

 TK had nine teams competing at the regional event, including two primary teams who aren’t placed.

In addition, Thornapple Kellogg’s Dillyn Bowers received the Ranatra Fusca Creativity Award for her costume.  The award represents the essence of OM and the creativity it brings.  It is presented to teams or individuals who exhibit exceptional creativity either through some aspect of their problem solution or an extraordinary idea beyond the problem solution. It is considered the highest of honors.

Earning first place honors were a fifth-grade team made up of Mia Dickman, Emmie MacDonald, Emma Thompson, Lucy VanderMolen, Libby Hess, Dillyn Bowers and Nancy Raab. They are coach by Jackie Schneider.

The third and fourth-grade team coached by Robin Walters also earned a first place rating. Team members are Lukas Walters, Caroline Hannapel, Charlotte Nelson, Tyne Bufka, Emilia Rickert, Drake Holzhausen and Whitney Ruger.

The middle school seventh-grade team coached by Sheryl Haveman and Rebecca Hoskins also earned a first place rating. Team members are Courtney Haveman, Christel Hoskins, Kelly Gasser, Brendan Carlson, John Plummer, Abbie Numerick and Ellie Essenberg.

The team coach by Melinda Robinett received a second place rating and will also advance to the state. Team members from fourth and fifth grades are Shelby Robinett, Marian Gielincki, Erin Sukup, Audrey Guikema, Lainey Guikema, Evinne Reed, and Josie DeBoer.

The state OM competition will be hosted at Thornapple Kellogg Schools March 19.